Update for Stakeholders from our Chair

11th April 2020

Firstly, we hope that our stakeholders and their teams remain healthy and well, and are coping with what is quickly becoming the new normal.

Further to our commitment to joint collaborative working across Northumberland and Tyne & Wear, and further to the last communication to stakeholders in January, the Active Partnership assumed a new staffing structure as of Wednesday 1st April 2020.

This short update is designed to briefly inform stakeholders of the way we are structuring ourselves going forward, in order that you are able to best connect to relevant members of the team.  If you are unsure of who to contact, please liaise with your normal contact within the Active Partnership, and they will connect you to the right person.

Senior Management Team

Chief Executive Officer – Clare Morley
clare.morley@tynewearsport.org
clarem.northNEactivepartnership@gmail.com
07535 291 992

Strategic Director (North of Tyne) – Lee Sprudd
lee.sprudd@northumberlandsport.co.uk
07795 014 285

Strategic Director (South of Tyne) – David Marrin
david.marrin@tynewearsport.org
07791 931 922

Five Key Workstreams

Our structure is designed to support our five key workstreams as an Active Partnership. These are:

  • Adult Health and Wellbeing
  • Children & Young People’s Health and Wellbeing
  • Empowering People
  • Infrastructure and Environment
  • Research, Insight and Communications

The staff working within each workstream are detailed below, together with their contact details. We have some vacancies, which we hope to be able to recruit to soon:

Adult Health and Wellbeing:

Strategic Lead – Adam Brougham
adam.brougham@tynewearsport.org
07791 931 681

Active Workplace Development Manager – Rebecca Bennett
rebecca.bennett@tynewearsport.org
07908 772 217

Club Development Manager – Jade Scott
jade.scott@tynewearsport.org
07964 947 467

Children & Young Peoples’ Health and Wellbeing:

Strategic Lead – Gail Ballance
gail.ballance@northumberlandsport.co.uk
07966 324 405

School Sport Development Manager (Tyne & Wear) – Claire Lee
claire.lee@tynewearsport.org
07794 312 745

Children & Young People Development Officer (Northumberland) – Amy Scott
amy.scott@northumberlandsport.co.uk
07966 330 309

The Daily Mile Local Co-ordinator (Tyne & Wear) – Gary Young
gary.young@tynewearsport.org
07947 522 704

Empowering People:

Strategic Lead – Andrew Tunnah
andrew.tunnah@northumberlandsport.co.uk
07824 868 569

Empowering People Development Manager – Ruth Nicholson
ruth.nicholson@tynewearsport.org
07984 071 411

Infrastructure & Environment:

Strategic Lead – Vacancy

Research, Insight & Communications:

Strategic Lead – Xerxes Setna
xerxes.setna@tynewearsport.org
07791 933 509

Communications Officer – Vacancy

Research & Insight Officer – Vacancy

Key Support Staff:

Finance & Business Support Officer – Kaye Scott
kaye.scott@northumberlandsport.co.uk
07973 786 310

North of Tyne Development Officer – Vacancy

South of Tyne Development Officer – Jack Liddle
jack.liddle@tynewearsport.org
07944 462 195

The Final Stage:

The final pieces in our jigsaw that are now left to complete are:

  • developing and rolling out our new name and brand, which we are aiming to complete in the late Spring/early Summer.
  • recruitment for our new independent Chair. The recruitment process has gone live; please see https://www.northumberlandsport.co.uk/job/independent-chair/
  • development of our longer-term strategy for 2021 and beyond.

In closing, whilst we recognise that we are living through extraordinary times at present, we are hopeful that through the development of the Active Partnership in this way, we can re-double our efforts to improve the health and wellbeing of the residents of Northumberland and Tyne & Wear, both now, and in the future.

Active Partnerships
Back to listing